There has been a Memorial Ensemble on the Bernauer Straße between the districts of Wedding and the Central Area since the end of the 1990s. These include the Berlin Wall Memorial Site, the Berlin Wall Documentation Centre along with the Chapel of Reconciliation. Here one section of the Wall has been rebuilt in its original location. There is an exhibition and a great deal of information about the Wall. An excellent view can be obtained from a viewing tower. The Chapel of Reconciliation was built over the foundations of the choir of the Church of Reconciliation that was blown up in 1985. Those who died on the Wall are remembered here on Tuesdays to Fridays from 12.00 – 12.15 pm
Documentation Centre Opening Hours:
April – October: 9.30 am – 7.00 pm
November – March: 9.30 am – 6.00 pm
Berlin Wall Memorial Site
Bernauer Straße 119, 13355 Berlin
Tel.: 030 467 98 66 66
The Berlin Wall History Mile is a permanent exhibition in four languages. At 30 different stations along the inner city Wall Trail, it tells the story of the partition, the building of the Wall, and the opening up of the Wall. It features historical photos and texts that describe the events that took place at each of the locations and illustrate both the political situation and everyday life in the divided city. In the city centre the former course of the Berlin Wall is marked with a double row of cobblestones and cast iron plaques set in the ground “Berlin Wall 1961–1989“. By following the markings, traces of the border posts are discernible on foot.
Some plaque locations:
Bornholmer Straße / Bösebrücke
Bernauer Straße 48 and 78
Chausseestraße / Corner of Liesen Straße
“White Crosses“ Memorial Site Reichstagufer
Along the Mühlenstraße in Friedrichshain (close to the East Station) there is a work known as “Hinterlandmauer“ which was painted in 1990 by 118 artists, both men and women, from 21 countries. The images express the joy that greeted the fall of the Berlin Wall. The actual border ran along the Kreuzberg Bank opposite. But in order to quickly apprehend fugitives, the standard arrangement of signal security fence, patrol road, searchlights and border security fence was constructed along the road behind the wall.
The exhibition in Berlins Tränenpalast, “GrenzErfahrungen. Alltag der deutschen Teilung” (Border Experience. Everyday life in divided Germany), offers original exhibits such as old observation cameras and interviews with time witnesses. The Tränenpalast (“Palace of Tears”) is an appropriate venue for that exhibition. It was built in 1962 as terminal building for the departure from East to West Berlin.
Tuesday to Friday: 9 am – 7 pm,
weekends: 10 am – 6 pm
Reichstagsufer 17, 10117 Berlin
S- and U-Bhf. Friedrichsstraße
The Allied Museum recounts the story of the Western powers in Berlin from 1945 to 1994. One of the items on show in the exhibition is the world famous sentry post of Checkpoint Charlie in the Friedrichstraße / Zimmerstraße, as well as a number of other exhibits forming part of political, military and everyday history.
Clayallee 135, 14195 Berlin-Zehlendorf
Daily 10.00 am – 6.00 pm, closed Mondays
Underground (U-Bahn) station: Oskar-Helene-Heim
Suburban (S-Bahn) station: Zehlendorf (S1), Bus 115, Bus X83
Tel.: 030 81 81 990
On 8th May 1945 Field Marshal General Keitel signed an unconditional surrender of the German Armed Forces in the Pionierschule which had been captured by the Red Army and which was subsequently the official headquarters of the Soviet Military Administration. The permanent exhibition depicts German-Soviet relations from 1917 to 1990; the museum primarily commemorates the war in the East between 1941 and 1945.
Zwieseler Straße 4 / Rheinsteinstraße, 10318 Berlin-Lichtenberg
Underground (U-Bahn) station: Tierpark (Zoo)
Suburban (S-Bahn) station: Karlshorst
Tel.: 030 50 15 08 10
Discover a wealth of information on travelling by Motorhome, Caravan or Boat when planning your holiday or trip of a lifetime
Which ever way you wish to travel, do it with style!